CRADLE Honorary Appointments

Honorary appointments facilitate our local and international partnerships and strengthen our program of collaborative research in assessment and digital learning.

Our appointees are selected based on their ability to contribute positively to our objectives, values and culture, and work collaboratively with our researchers to expand and facilitate our research both nationally and internationally. Honorary appointments recognise an extensive contribution to research and professional leadership in assessment and digital learning.

Image of Dr Gordon Joughin

Honorary Professor: Dr Gordon Joughin

Dr Gordon Joughin joined CRADLE as an Honorary Professor in June 2016. He is a higher education consultant working with CRADLE on decision-making in assessment.

Dr Joughin is a former Director of the Teaching and Educational Development Institute (TEDI) at the University of Queensland. He has published extensively on assessment and learning in higher education, including editing Assessment, Learning and Judgement (Springer, 2009)His current research considers decision-making theory in assessment design and the nature of spoken work in oral assessment.

Photograph of Prof. David Carless

Honorary Professor: Professor David Carless

Professor David Carless was appointed CRADLE Honorary Professor in March 2016. He is Professor of Educational Assessment and Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) in the Faculty of Education, University of Hong Kong. 

A decorated teacher and researcher, Professor Carless has authored and co-edited several books. He has also published over 30 peer-reviewed journal articles. His current research explores feedback for student learning in higher education, feedback literacy, and assessment for learning

He currently sits on the editorial boards of five SSCI journals, including Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education and Teaching in Higher Education.

Honorary Professor: Ernesto Panadero

An outstanding researcher, Ernesto Panadero was CRADLE’s first Honorary Professor, appointed in January 2016. Ernesto is the Ikerbasque Research Professor at Universidad de Deusto in Bilbao, Spain.

Ernesto has an excellent publication record, including well-regarded English and Spanish journals, book chapters, and international conference papers. He is also the convenor of the Special Interest Group 1 of the European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI), which is the major international research association for assessment.

Ernesto’s research interests include understanding how to employ educational psychology methods and theories to better understand the effects of educational assessment.

Honorary Professor: Professor Sue Bennett

Professor Sue Bennett was appointed as a CRADLE Honorary Professor in June 2018. She is the Executive Dean, Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities at the University of Wollongong, Australia.

An internationally recognised researcher, Professor Bennett investigates how people engage with technology in their everyday lives and in educational settings. Professor Bennett’s current research interests include: learning design for supporting teachers’ educational design practices; sociological perspectives on educational technology, investigating young people’s creative practices with technology; and functional brain imaging and multimedia based problem solving.

Honorary Professor: Professor Naomi Winstone

Professor Naomi Winstone was appointed Honorary Professor in February 2020. She is Director of Surrey Institute of Education and Director of the Surrey Assessment and Learning Lab at the University of Surrey.

Professor Winstone is a cognitive psychologist specialising in learning behaviour and engagement with education research. Her research focuses on the processing and implementation of feedback, educational transitions, and educational identities.

Honorary Fellow: Dr Edd Pitt

Dr Edd Pitt was appointed Honorary Fellow in March 2018. He is the Programme Director for the Post Graduate Certificate in Higher Education and Reader in Higher Education and Academic Practice at the University of Kent, UK.

Dr Pitt’s principle research field is assessment and feedback, with a particular focus on students’ emotional processing during feedback situations. His research outcomes include peer-reviewed journal articles, international conference papers, book chapters, and a book. Dr Pitt has participated in two CRADLE international symposia.

Photograph of Jiming Zhou

Honorary Fellow: Dr Jiming Zhou

Dr Jiming Zhou was appointed Honorary Fellow in November 2019. She is a senior lecturer at Fudan University, China, and holds a PhD in education from the University of Hong Kong.

During her year-long stay at CRADLE, Dr Zhou delivered a seminar on Chinese international students’ first year experiences in Australian universities.

Dr Zhou’s current research interests include assessment and learning, educational innovation, and students’ school-university transition.

Juuso Nieminen Profile Picture

Honorary Fellow: Dr Juuso Henrik Nieminen

Dr Juuso Henrik Nieminen was appointed Honorary Fellow in May 2022. He is Assistant Professor at the Academic Unit of Social Contexts and Policies of Education (SCAPE), University of Hong Kong.

Dr Nieminen has participated in two CRADLE symposia, in 2020 and 2021, as a presenter. Currently, Dr Nieminen is working on multiple collaborative research activities with the CRADLE team.

Dr Nieminen’s research focuses on student experiences of assessment and feedback, student formation and positioning through assessment and inclusive assessment.

Honorary Associate Professor: Dr Sarah Eaton

Dr Sarah Eaton was appointed Honorary Associate Professor in January 2023. She is an associate professor at the Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary.

Dr Eaton has received research awards of excellence for her scholarship on academic integrity from the Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education (CSSHE) in 2020 and the European Network for Academic Integrity (ENAI) in 2022. Dr Eaton has written and presented extensively on academic integrity and ethics in higher education and is regularly invited as a media guest to talk about academic misconduct.

Honorary Fellow: Dr Rebecca Awdry

Dr Rebecca Awdry was appointed an Honorary Fellow in early 2023. Dr Awdry is a senior education consultant and graduated from CRADLE in 2022.

Dr Awdry has researched and written extensively on academic integrity, student outsourcing and contract cheating, and how this aligns with thinking about assessment and contextual elements of the student experience. As part of her research, Dr Awdry led and managed an international project on essay mills and outsourcing. She has extensive experience in reviewing university quality, policy, integrity and student experience processes, to embed more effective and improved systems for the university.

Dr Awdry has worked with institutions on developing their staff and student training on academic integrity, both from an educative perspective and reactive (looking at detection methods, evidentiary standards and investigations). Most recently she has been involved in research with Monash University investigating the impact of online examination systems and security on student wellbeing, experience and integrity.

back to top