Skip to navigation Skip to content

11 October 2022

We say a fond farewell to Cloud Campus

After six years, it is time to farewell the Cloud Campus name. From T3, you will start to see Cloud Campus referred to as ‘Online’, which encompasses all online learners.

The term ‘Cloud Campus’ was introduced to recognise the distinctive requirements of online study, which led to changed support and teaching practice to improve students’ online experience.

By moving from Cloud Campus to Online, we are now describing a unified, inclusive student cohort where all students learn flexibly through interactive learning experiences. Changing the use of Cloud Campus to Online better reflects the flexibility students want and the inclusivity that is at the heart of Deakin.

As we have in the past, we’ll maintain our focus on improving the online learning offering and experiences for students studying online. We also want to explore the opportunities to build this community of learners, enhance their university experience and establish a lifelong learning community that is inclusive, vibrant and connected.

How will this change impact students?

Online study language

New language Previously known Use
Online student Cloud Campus student A student enrolled at the course level to study online.
Online study  Cloud Studying online – unit level.
Online Online (Cloud) or Cloud Study mode and delivery. A mode and location.​​​​​​​

As we implement this change, you’ll see some changes starting from Trimester 3 (T3) 2022. 

Study modes will start to be called:

Study locations will be reflected as:

Timetables will be referred to as ‘Campus timetable’ and ‘Online timetable’.

Our digital learning management system will remain as CloudDeakin.

When will this change be implemented?

Some changes will come into effect from T3, and others will be transitioned in as we commence the Semester 1 and Trimester 1 2023 study periods.

We invite our current Online (Cloud Campus) students to help us make this transition and provide feedback on the Cloud Campus Facebook Group, connection to university and peers. 

We encourage you to complete this short 10-minute survey to provide your feedback. Online students who complete the survey and include their name, Deakin email and student number will go in the draw to win one of five $50 vouchers

Competition now closed. Congratulations to our winners Anubhav Bhatia, Madeleine David, Le Huy Pham, Carrie Baczynski, Fatimah Safira Ahmad Fahmi.


back to top