Writing, Literature and Culture @Deakin

Feature image link to article

Internship Stories: Georgie Jones

One of the ways that Deakin students can gain industry insights and experience is through our Work Integrated Learning (WIL) programs. There are a range of internship opportunities advertised at any given time and students always come away with valuable knowledge and increased networks to draw upon throughout their study and after graduation. Below, Bachelor […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Olivia De Zilva Wins the 2019 Deakin University Nonfiction Prize

Last week, Express Media and Deakin University announced the 2019 Deakin University Nonfiction Prize winner, Adelaide-based writer, Olivia De Zilva. De Zilva’s ‘Let’s Eat食飯!’ impressed the judges with its ingenious weaving of culture and personal reflection within a beautifully versed commentary on the bonds that family share.  Our own Briohny Doyle was one of the […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

‘Bronze Stories: Geelong Unearthed’ Launch

  On Sunday, November 17th, ‘Bronze Stories: Geelong Unearthed’, a text-based public-art project designed and funded by the City of Greater Geelong, was launched at the Word for Word National Non-Fiction Festival. The project aims to unearth Geelong’s fascinating history in the rapidly modernising urban landscape of Central Geelong. Ten stories about the Wadawurrung people, […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Exploring literary representations of ‘place’ from Melbourne’s inner north to the Mallee region

Senior Lecturer in Literary Studies and Associate Head of School (Research) for the School of Communication and Creative Arts, Dr Emily Potter had two new articles published last week. Emily Potter and Kirsten Seale wrote ‘The worldly text and the production of more-than-literary place: Helen Garner’s “Monkey Grip” and Melbourne’s inner north’, published in Cultural Geographies […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Leonie Rutherford – ARC Linkage Win – Teen Reading

A fantastic outcome for Writing & Literature team member Leonie Rutherford in the latest round of Australian Research Council (ARC) grants. Together with her co-chief investigators Katya Johanson and Andrew Singleton, Leonie has won an ARC Linkage grant for the project “Discovering a ‘Good Read’: Pathways to Reading for Australian Teens”. The awarded amount is […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Marion May Campbell – TEXT Review: The Man on the Mantelpiece

Another enthusiastic review of faculty member Marion May Campbell’s memoir The Man on the Mantelpiece (UWA, 2018) has been published in TEXT: Journal of Writing and Writing Courses. In an article that reviews both Marion’s memoir and Carol Lefevre’s The Happiness Glass (Spinifex, 2018), Moya Costello describes both books as “remarkable…sure-fired sources of impressive structuring”, […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Helen Young – Mythopoeic Prize Shortlist

Congratulations to staff member Helen Young, whose book Race and Popular Fantasy Literature: Habits of Whiteness (Routledge) has been shortlisted for the 2019 Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies. The award is given to scholarly books on authors writing in the tradition of JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis, or to more general works […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Gregory Day – Miles Franklin Shortlist

Exciting news for Deakin PhD graduate and tutor Gregory Day, whose novel A Sand Archive (Picador) has been shortlisted for the 2019 Miles Franklin Award. The winner will be announced on 30 July, and will receive $60,000 in prize money for the novel judged as being ‘of the highest literary merit’ and which presents ‘Australian […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Ella O’Keefe – Winning Poem in Southerly

Deakin HDR candidate Ella O’Keefe, who won the 2018 David Harold Tribe Poetry Award, has just published her winning poem, ‘warped up lamplight’, in the latest edition of Southerly journal. Speaking about the poem, Ella says, “It’s about the movement of memory and language. It refers to a landmark recognisable by residents of Sydney’s inner […]

Continue reading


Feature image link to article

Meg Mundell – We Are Here – Voices of Homelessness

Late October 2019 will see the launch of a new anthology by writers who have experienced homelessness. A collection of memoir and autobiographical poetry, all themed around “PLACE”, We Are Here: Stories on Home, Place & Belonging (Affirm Press) features 38 diverse and talented writers who have gone without a secure home. Along with first-time scribes […]

Continue reading


back to top