Wheeler Centre – Next Chapter writers selected

Ten Exciting New Literary Voices

The Wheeler Centre has just announced the 10 writers for 2022 in The Next Chapter writer’s scheme.

They are: Jumaana Abdu, Jose da Costa, Josie/Jocelyn Deane, Monikka Eliah, Tristen Harwood, Brooke Maddison, Luke Patterson, Micaela Sahhar, Mykaela Saunders and Anne-Marie Te Whiu. You can learn more about the writers here: Meet the writers

As part of the Next Chapter, each of these participants will receive $15,000 to develop a major work, be paired with an established writer for a 12-month mentorship, and undertake a residency at Varuna, The Writers’ House in Katoomba, NSW.

Our judges – Claire G. Coleman, Jeanine Leane, Fiona Wright and Arnold Zable – also noted four highly commended applicants: Jessica Knight, May Ngo, Guan Un and Belinda Zipper.⁠

Presented by the Wheeler Centre, the Next Chapter scheme is generously supported by the Aesop Foundation and George and Rosa Morstyn.

Supported by