Announcing winners in Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2022

Prize winners, from Wheeler Centre website

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

Congratulations to all winners in the 2022 awards…with particular congratulations to our recently departed staff member Maria Takolander, in the poetry category, for Trigger Warning.

The winners of the main suite of awards – the prizes for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Drama, Poetry, Award for Indigenous Writing and Writing for Young Adults – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000. 

The winners of the six main suite categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Two current staff members, Evelyn Araluen and Briohny Doyle, were also short listed.

..see the shortlists and winners on the Wheeler Centre website here.