Celebrating our newest PhD Grads!

Warmest congratulations to our most recent PhD graduates, who were also the first to have their doctoral degrees conferred in person at Deakin in 2022, after Covid prevented any face-to-face graduations since early 2020.  

Prior to the ceremony, our PhD Graduands gathered in the Deakin Council chamber, overlooking Geelong’s waterfront, and from here they joined the academic procession for the event, along with the Chancellor, Vice Chancellor, the Chair of Academic Board and representative members of the Faculty of Business and Law.  Some were lucky enough to have family and friends in the audience, while others had supporters around the world watching Deakin’s livestream broadcast of the event, which can be viewed for a limited time here (Ceremony 1, Tuesday 18 October 10am)

The Graduation program is available online here

The full list of PhD graduates from this conferral ceremony, including those graduating in absentia, is as follows –

  • Dr Regev Ben Bar, whose thesis is entitled: ‘Information, Transparency and Efficiency in Markets.’
    • Executive Supervisor: Professor Chris Doucouliagos
    • Co-supervisor: Dr Aaron Nicholas
    • Associate supervisor: Dr Saikat Sovan Deb
    • Department: Economics
  • Dr Xiaoran Cao, whose thesis is entitled: ‘Essays on Contemporary Agency-based Auditing Research: Partner and Firm-level Evidence.’
    • Principal Supervisor: Professor Simon Fung
    • Associate supervisor: Dr Samuel Cheung
    • Department: Accounting
  • Dr Abdul Haseeb Chaudhary, whose thesis is entitled: ‘Norms as Antecedents of Littering Behaviour in a Developing Country.’
    • Principal Supervisor: Professor Michael Polonsky
    • Associate supervisor: Dr Nicholas McClaren
    • Department: Marketing
  • Dr Sidharth Murthy, whose thesis is entitled: ‘CEO Psychological Traits and Corporate Outcomes.’
    • Principal Supervisor: Professor Ferdinand Gul
    • Associate supervisor: Assoc Professor Jun Yao
    • Department: Accounting
  • Dr Panagiotis Sotirakopoulos, whose thesis is entitled: ‘Essays on Labour Market Behaviour and Well-Being.’
    • Principal Supervisor: Assoc Professor Aydogan Ulker
    • Associate supervisor: Dr Ha Vu
    • Department: Economics
  • Dr Emma Prue Winston, whose thesis is entitled: ‘Transformative Value Outcomes of Tailored Arts Services.’
    • Principal Supervisor: Assoc Professor Ahmed Ferdous
    • Associate supervisors: Assoc Professor Fara Azmat, Professor Amanda Pyman
    • Department: Marketing
  • Dr Ching Hin Wong, whose thesis is entitled: ‘Essays on Target-Date Funds.’
    • Principal Supervisor: Assoc Professor Mike Mao
    • Associate supervisor: Dr Fengfei Li
    • Department: Finance


Pictured above L-R: Dr Ching Hin Wong, Dr Panos Sotirakopoulos, Dr Regev Bar, Dr Sid Murthy, Dr Emma Winston

Pictured below: images from the livestream and pre-Graduation gathering.


Category: News

Join the conversation

back to top