Posted by:

When I awoke before dawn on the day of Myanmar’s 2015 elections – the first more or less free elections in over five decades – my sense as an election observer team leader was the day would unfold as a happy occasion helping transition the country towards a better future, or there would be a military coup. It was a 50-50 proposition. As it turned out, the day was peaceful and electoral politics produced the first civilian government since 1962. The report I wrote at the time stated, however, that the military remained a threat to civilian rule. Last November’s elections, which we could not observe because of Covid restrictions, reinforced the Myanmar people’s desire to move away from the military. Some in the NLD even took their crushing majority as a sign to press for further reform. That was a mistake. Today the Tatmadaw (Myanmar Royal Military) staged a coup, supposedly to rule for 12 months although I expect they’ll remain for as long as it takes to organise an ‘elected’ government more to their liking; give it a few years. In the mean time, here’s a list of those we know have been arrested – I doubt it’s complete, but it needs to be circulated, so show the generals we are watching: 1. Daw Aung San Suu Kyi (State Counsellor) 2. U Win Myint (President) 3. U Phyo Min Thein (Chief Minister of Yangon Region) 4. Dr. Zaw Myint Maung (Chief Minister of Mandalay Region) 5. Dr. Aung Moe Nyo (Chief Minister of Magway Region) 6. U Hla Moe Aung (Chief Minister of Ayeyarwaddy Region) 7. U Win Thein (Chief Minister of Bago Region) 8. U Myint Naing (Chief Minister of Sagaing Region) 9. U Myint Maung (Chief Minister of Tanintharyi Region) 10. U Khet Aung (Chief Minister of Kachin State) 11. U Linn Htut (Chief Minister of Shan State) 12. Daw Nan Khin Htwe Myint (Chief Minister of Kayin State) 13. U Nyi Pu (Chief Minister of Rakhine State) 14. Dr. Aye Zan (Chief Minister of Mon State) 15. U Myo Thein Gyi (Minister for Education) 16. U Maw (Minister of Planning and Finance, Kayah State) 17. U Soe Nyunt Lwin (Shan state Minister of Planning and Finance) 18. U Nyan Win (Personal Attorney of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi) 19. Dr. Tin Myo Win (Personal Physician of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi) 20. U Han Thar Myint (Central Executive Committee Member, NLD) 21. U Nyunt Wai (Chairman of NLD party, Shwe Daung) 22. U Aye Kyu a.k.a Monywa Aung Shin (Spokesperson, NLD) 23. Daw Khin Saw Wai (Member of Parliament) 24. Dr. Myo Aung (Member of Parliament) 25. U Thaung Htay (Kayah) 26. U Sai Yu (Kayah) 27. Min Htin Ko Ko Gyi (Filmmaker) 28. Min Thway Thit (Student leader) 29. U Ko Ko Gyi (Leader of People’s Party) 30. U Min Ko Naing (The 88 Generation Students) 31. U Mya Aye (The 88 Generation Students) 32. Maung Thar Cho (Writer) 33. Daw Than Myint Aung (Writer) 34. Tharawun-Pyi (Writer) 35. Saw Poe Kwar (Singer) 36. Htain Linn Oo (Writer) 37.Chit Oo Nyo(Writer) 38.Ko Mg Mg Aye 39. အိပန်ဆယ်လို