Dr John Doyle

Dr John Doyle is an associate of the Contemporary Histories Research Group at Deakin University and an honorary research associate in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at La Trobe University. He received a PhD from La Trobe in 2017 for a thesis on the political and policy history of Australian telecommunications reform from the 1960s to 1990s, which won the Rhys Isaac Prize. John completed a MBA at Melbourne Business School, University of Melbourne in 1998 and received a BA with First Class Honours in history from the University of Adelaide in 1992. He was a National Archives of Australia/Australian Historical Association postgraduate scholar in 2013-14.

John’s research interests include political and policy history, government, politics and public policy, and biography. At Deakin, he currently works with the Australian Policy and History Network and has been a sessional academic in the Department of Politics and Policy Studies. At La Trobe, John has been a postdoctoral researcher, a tutor in Australian politics, government and history, and coordinated the Victorian Parliamentary Internship program. Earlier in his career, John held regulatory/public policy and strategy roles with SingTel Optus and was a board member of the telecommunications sector’s principal industry body, Communications Alliance. Before this, he was an analyst with the Office of National Assessments and Defence Signals Directorate.


Conference & Seminar papers

  • ‘Reform and Renovation: Whitlam’s Telecommunications Policy’, paper given at Australian Historical Association annual conference, Australian National University, 3 July 2018.
  • ‘Social Engineering: The Politics of Australian Telecommunications Reform’, paper given at La Trobe University Department of Politics and Philosophy Seminar Series, 9 September 2015.
  • ‘Conceiving of Telecom and the Politics of Telecommunication, 1967-1972’, refereed paper given at Australian Political Studies Association Annual Conference, Murdoch University, 1 October 2013.


  • Australian Historical Association
  • Australian Political Studies Association
  • Professional Historians Australia