Want to earn $100 in 3 minutes?

If you’re a Deakin Business School (DBS) or Deakin Law School (DLS) PhD student, you’re eligible to compete in the popular Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT).

2016 3MT finalists Katrina Hogan and Dakshina Chandra.

This year, every participant earns $100 and the two overall winners will be awarded an additional $200 each.

The rules are simple: you have three minutes; a single, static power point slide and your wit, to present a compelling synopsis of your entire PhD thesis.

It’s a great opportunity to hone your communication skills in a supportive environment, and to distil the essence of your research into a succinct and engaging sound bite.

To compete, you must be a DBS or DLS student, actively enrolled in a PhD and have completed a satisfactory confirmation of candidature. 

Please email your completed 3MT 2018 entry form to [email protected] by 17 May 2018. Please also submit your single power point slide to the same email address by 28 May and don’t forget to bring a copy along on the day of the DBS and DLS final. 

3MT 2018 Competition timeline

  • DBS and DLS entries close: 17 May 2018
  • DBS and DLS final: Thursday 31 May 2018, Building LB, Melbourne Burwood Campus
  • Deakin University final: Wednesday 15 August 2018, Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus
  • Asia-Pacific final: Thursday 27 September 2018, University of Queensland, Brisbane

All attendees, whether presenting or just attending, must also REGISTER for this event. Afternoon tea will follow. 

3MT Results in 2017

You can watch the Faculty of Business and Law’s finalist Trang Tran presenting at the Deakin final in 2017, and read about Paul McGorrery’s research and his winning presentation.

As the winner of the Deakin 3MT, Paul then represented Deakin at the 2017 Asia-Pacific 3MT, and you can also view that HERE.

2017 3 Minute Thesis Winner Paul McGorrery with Vice-Chancellor Professor Jane den Hollander.

Category: Events

Tag list: Tags: ,

Join the conversation

back to top