Profile photo of Senior Deakin University Lecturer Susan Ang

Senior Lecturer Susan Ang

The School of Architecture and Built Environment congratulates Senior Lecturer, Susan Ang on her successful selection to the Committee for Geelong Leaders for Geelong (LfG) 2020 – 2021 program.


Having initially been identified as an outstanding candidate and nominated to the program by Executive Dean Professor Karen Hapgood, Susan moved through Deakin University’s selection process, and was eventually selected out of 11 nominated Deakin staff to be supported by Vice Chancellor Professor Iain Martin to submit an application. Susan was invited to attend an intensive interview process by the Committee for Geelong LfG selection panel, and was one of two staff from Deakin University successful in gaining a place in the 2020 – 2021 Leaders for Geelong (LfG) program.

Leaders for Geelong (LfG) is a two‐year program that develops personal leadership capacity through a unique learning experience, designed to address the current social, economic, and environmental issues of importance to the Geelong city‐region. In the first year, participants attend a minimum of 1‐ 2 events per month where they are challenged and inspired by renowned leaders and subject matter experts, undertake ‘behind the scenes’ tours, discuss case studies and participate in a range of other activities. The second year sees participants working in teams on a community based project of regional significance, ultimately with an opportunity to present the project outcomes in Canberra. The Leaders for Geelong program is a member of the Victorian Regional Community Leadership Program, which is a collaboration of ten regional community leadership programs across Victoria. For information, visit the Regional Leadership. website.

Head of School, Professor Anthony Mills commented that “This is a significant achievement for Susan and recognition of her leadership in building strong communities. The School of A+B congratulate her and are assured that she will be an outstanding member of the program.”