Deakin’s highest achieving Architecture, Construction Management and Landscape Architecture students were acknowledged at the School of Architecture and Built Environment’s annual awards ceremony in May.

Scholarships, industry sponsored prizes and placement opportunities were presented including the esteemed Peddle Thorp and ClarkeHopkinsClarke Scholarships that both offer financial support as well as placement opportunities in these global architecture practices.

Peddle Thorp Scholarship – Salome Bricker & Matthew Gulli

Mr Peter Brook, Design Director at Peddle Thorp Architects, closed the formal part of the evening with a keynote presentation that reflected on his life as an architect and how to have a successful career in the built environment. The presentation inspired students and staff alike to take whatever opportunities come their way and to continue learning.

After the official proceedings students, families, industry sponsors and special guests enjoyed refreshments in the A+B Gallery where the award-winning student projects were on display. This informal part of the evening gave students the unique opportunity to connect with employers of the future.

A+BOUT 2018

The School’s annual student publication A+BOUT was also launched on the night. A+BOUT is designed, produced and edited entirely by students and features the work of award winning students and those who exhibited at PaperSpace. This year the publication was a creative design modelled on the architecturally significant Deakin Waterfront Campus, the students work is represented electronically on the A+BOUT website.

The Schools prizes and awards are generously sponsored by AIB, AIQS, CIOB, Geelong Central Rotary, Newland (Armstrong Creek Development Corporation), Peddle Thorp, Treloar Family, Victorian Digital Solutions, Kang Family, Spiire, Thomson Hay Landscape Architecture, GHD Woodhead Landscape Architecture, Cavalier Art, K2 Planning and Rendine Construction, ClarkeHopkinsClarke, Kane Construction and Fletchers Real Estate.

ClarkeHopkinsClarke Scholarship – Callan Green


VC Academic Excellence Scholarship – Dominic Randall
VC Academic Excellence Scholarship – Zach Martin
Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Adele Mancini
Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Tanayah Blackhall
Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Abigail Hayes
ClarkeHopkinsClarke Architects Scholarship – Callan Green
Peddle Thorp Scholarship – Salome Bricker
Peddle Thorp Scholarship – Matthew Gulli
Graham Treloar Research Prize – Yan Li (George)
Richard Gibson Award – Adelia Sari
Arthur Collins Award – Julie Pham
ARBV Professional Practice – Noah Trickett
Wai Shuen Kang Award – Melisa Santos
The Cavalier Prize – Aremel Tibayan
Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 1st Year – Caroline Andrus
Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 2nd Year – Christine Jorge
Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 3rd Year – Qiaochu Tang (Ruby)
Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 4th Year – Ying Xin Tan (Fishy)
Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 5th Year – Ching Cheng Sim (Ethan)
Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Undergraduate Award – Bonnie Smith
Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Undergraduate Award – Callum Parrotte
Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Postgraduate Course Work Award – Zhi Feng Sim (Eric)
Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Postgraduate Research Award – Yan Feng Gu (Ted)
Rendine Constructions Award – Salome Bricker
Ian Fulton – Rotary Award – Mitchell Dean
Ian Fulton – Rotary Award – Caleb Sim
AIQS Donald Cant Prize – Nina Zdravkovski
RICS Prize – Jarrod Argent
AIB (Australian Insitute of Building) – Amber Robillard
The Fletchers Real Estate Awards – Callum Bourke
Cottage by the Sea Award – Kirsty Robson
Cottage by the Sea Award – Leif Canuto
Cottage by the Sea Award – Abir Mahmud
KANE ASC Oklahoma competition – Mick Abdou
KANE ASC Oklahoma competition – Stephanie Dimitrio
KANE ASC Oklahoma competition – Olivia Sioukas
The Spiire Urban and Landscape Planning Award – Belinda Allwood
GHD Woodhead Landscape Architecture Award – Belinda Allwood
The Warralily Urban Design Award – Shreya Magar
Thomson Hay Landscape Architects Regional Landscape Award – Nitika Sharma
K2 Planning Award for Urban Dynamics and Change – Daniel Murrihy

External Industry Awards:

Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize – Belinda Allwood
Australian Institute of Architecture graduate Prize (commendation) – Koh Yu Wen (Yvonne)