The School of Architecture and Built Environment’s highest achieving students were celebrated at the annual A+B Awards Night on Tuesday 8. More than 40 students were acknowledged for their outstanding academic performance and contribution to the University and community during 2017. A variety of scholarships, monetary prizes, placement opportunities and gift vouchers were presented. Mr Tony Arnel, Global Director Sustainability at Norman Disney & Young, closed the formal part of the evening with a keynote presentation on how innovations have effected architecture and construction design.

After the official proceedings students, families, industry sponsors and special guests enjoyed refreshments in the A+B Gallery where students had the unique opportunity to make connections with employers of the future.

Thank you to our award sponsors:  AIB, AIQS, CIOB, Geelong Central Rotary, Newland (Armstrong Creek Development Corporation), Peddle Thorp, Treloar Family, Victorian Digital Solutions, Kang Family, Spiire, Thomson Hay Landscape Architecture, GHD Woodhead Landscape Architecture, Cavalier Art, K2 Planning and Rendine Construction, ClarkeHopkinsClarke, Kane Construction.


Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Hannah Tindall

Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Grace Viccars 

Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Lauren Brodie

Deakin Ignited Scholarship – Tamara Fuller 

ClarkeHopkinsClarke Architects Scholarship – Georgina Campbell

ClarkeHopkinsClarke Architects Scholarship – Abbey Moore

Peddle Thorp Scholarship – Julie Pham

Peddle Thorp Scholarship – Nicholas Malcher

Graham Treloar Research Prize – Zainab Abass

Richard Gibson Award – Nicholas Malcher

Arthur Collins Award – Beverlea Low

ARBV Professional Practice – George Meek

Wai Shuen Kang Award – Ned McDonald

The Cavalier Prize – Mitchell Pianto

Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 1st Year – Tess Barker

Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 2nd Year – Oskar Casasayas

Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 2nd Year – Ramzi Tawil

Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 3rd Year – Julie Pham

Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 4th Year – Alex Larcombe

Victorian Digital Solutions Prize 5th Year – Angus Wishart

Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Undergraduate Award – Philippine Amelie LeJalle

Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Undergraduate Award – Samuel Huf

Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Postgraduate Course Work Award – Lang Lang

Chartered Institute of Building (CIOBA) Postgraduate Research Award – LingFeng Liang

Rendine Constructions Award – James Polglaze

Ian Fulton – Rotary Awards 1 of 2 awards – Callum Parrotte

Ian Fulton – Rotary Awards 2 of 2 awards – Cindy Zhang

AIQS Donald Cant Prize – Alexandra Phillips

RICS Prize – Chris Nixon

AIB – Jimmy Watson

KANE ASC Oklahoma competition – Ariana Llewlllyn-Millard

KANE ASC Oklahoma competition – Margarita Sudakova

KANE ASC Oklahoma competition – Jaden Mialszygrosz

The Spiire Urban and Landscape Planning Award – George Meek

The Spiire Urban and Landscape Planning Award – Darcy Dunn

GHD Woodhead Landscape Architecture Award – Montgomery Spencer Arnold

The Warralily Urban Design Award – Dylan Armstrong

Thomson Hay Landscape Architects Regional Landscape Award – Shivani Bhatnagar

K2 Planning Award for Urban Dynamics and Change – Christine Cooke