The School is delighted to announce two prizes in the 2016 Vice Chancellors Awards held at the Edge Federation Square in November.

Professor Des Smith and Dr Diego Fullaondo won the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Deakin Connectedness. This award recognises an outstanding contribution to the success of PaperSpace 2015 which furthers the vision of the University’s Strategic Plan, LIVE the future: Agenda 2020.

Des Smith and Diego Fullaondo supervised and coordinated Paperspace 2015, the annual exhibition of Design and Thesis projects of graduating students that was a student designed, constructed and managed project. It took place in the Atrium Gallery at Federation Square during Melbourne Cup Week 2015 and featured the curated work of more than 50 students from Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Planning courses. There were more than 500 attendants at the Opening Night, and more than 10,000 people passing through the exhibition during Cup Week. The event was opened by Sean Godsell and gained enormous support and comment from the profession. Events like this reflect well on the School and we are pleased that Des and Diego have been recognised for this contribution.

Congratulation also go to Cristina Garduno Freeman and Diego Fullaondo who won a 2016 Deakin University Award for Teaching Excellence for their collaboration with the DesignBUILD 2016 team to include a student project.

DesignBUILD is a leading event for industry professionals from the architecture, building, construction and design communities. Called DesignBUILD RAW, the initiative presented Deakin students with an industry-standard brief to design a key component of the event’s show floor – the central bar area, the show’s entrance feature and seminar theatre. This new initiative gave students the opportunity to display their work and put their design skills on show.

The Teaching Excellence award recognises an excellence contribution to teaching and learning at Deakin and is a tribute to the calibre of Cristina and Diego’s teaching and commitment to students.